top of page

Foodie Fridays - Edition 1


Welcome to the first edition of Foodie Fridays. As most of you probably already know I’m a bit of a self-confessed foodie who loves cooking, eating and dining out. So I thought once a fortnight I would do a quick whip around of all things food related - recent restaurants I’ve tried, recipes and fun food facts.

I hope everyone enjoys!!



Dining Out

Being fairly new to Perth I’m really loving exploring the Perth dining scene, so here are 2 recent experiences:


El Publico

This is a Mexican tapas restaurant located in Highgate. We went for the “feed me menu” which was 4 courses of dishes to share including dessert. Stand out dishes were the Street Corn, and the Beef Mogo Mogo Tacos. The cocktails here are also delicious and I would highly recommend the Rosarita which is a Margarita with hibiscus.


Overall rating 4/5 📷📷📷📷


King Somm Wine Bar and Jane Dough Pizza

This is a new Wine bar and wine store located in Bayswater which partners with the pizza store next door. It’s very new and very cool but the staff are very friendly. The pizzas are delicious as are the wines. The stand out was the Pancetta and Potato pizza. This particular dining experience was heightened by a chance encounter with the Masterchef Judges George, Garry and Matt who came in for pizza. Hey I figure if it’s good enough for them it’s good enough for me!!



Overall rating 5/5 📷📷📷📷📷


Eating in

This weekend I plan to cook a roast leg of lamb (What’s better than a Sunday Roast?). I’m planning to try something different with a “slashed leg of lamb” which involves “slashing” the lamb at intervals and stuffing it with a delicious combination of fresh bread crumbs, herbs, capers, anchovies and lemon.

I’m using the below recipe so I’ll keep you posted on how it turns out


https://www.betterreading.com.au/news/free-recipe-slashed-roast-leg-of-lamb-by-jill-dupleix/




Fun Foodie Fact

Arachibutyrophobia is the fear of Peanut Butter sticking to the roof of your mouth.



Thanks everyone for reading, and I look forward to the next edition of Foodie Friday’s.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Women's Health & Wellbeing Services

P: 08 9490 2258

F: 08 9490 1365

E: info@whws.org.au

Suite 7, Level 1 Gosnells Community Lotteries House

2232c Albany Highway Gosnells WA 6110

© 2021 by Women's Health and Wellbeing Services. 

bottom of page